In The Mist There Is Faith

Hand-Butterfly Eyes watch filled with an unwholesome gaze,
leaving me feeling small, exposed and afraid

But you, God see the trouble of the afflicted;
you consider their grief and take it in hand (Psalm 10:14a)

No Father to protect me made it easy for this to be, she had what she needed,
closed her eyes to what was happening to me

The victims committed themselves to you;
you are the helper of the fatherless (Psalm 10:14b)

Fingers stealing my innocence, greedy digits stripping away my soul, incomplete,
rage deep, losing, losing control

When wickedness comes, so does contempt,
and with shame comes reproach (Proverbs 18:3)

Small, shivering, eyes burn from spent waters of shame, searching your face desperately
for a sign, pretending ends, this madness will cease right away

It is not good to be partial to the wicked and
so deprive the innocent justice (Proverbs 18:5)

Fleeting moment, expression of deliverance! wrong, so deceived; the trinkets she receives
are much more valuable than little old me

Keep me safe, Lord from the hands of the wicked;
Protect me from the violence, who devise ways to trip my feet (Psalm 140:4)

No where to turn, quivering lips, eyes casted to the skies, from the depth of my belly I cry

I say to the Lord, “You are my God.” Hear, Lord, my cry for mercy.
Do not grant the wicked their desires, Lord; Do not let their plans succeed
(Psalm 140:6, 8)

Other eyes watch, a decision made; across the room threats are flung,
in reply, words of disgust are slung, feet race across the floor, hand takes hand, out we run, door slams

Because he loves me, “says the Lord, “I will rescue him;
I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.” (Psalm 91:41)

Arms blanket me, sad is the gaze, eyelids slowly close; tiny sounds break my lips, sudden recognition, “I see me”
hurt flows, tear stained faces, shared pain now exposed; she’s been there too, I am not alone; my God the things that go on in a home

May the Lord answer you when you are in distress;
may the name of the God of Jacob protect you (Psalm 20:1)

My Prayer: Merciful Lord, so many are suffering in silence from the hurt of sexual abuse.
Touch each soul and deliver them to a place of safety and protection. Bring peace to the weary soul and release from the shame. Heal the wounded heart and create a new spirit. May you cover them in the full abundance of your love, in the name of Jesus I pray, Amen.

FOOTNOTE: poem is written by Gwen Miller with scripture inserts

About gwenbyfaith

I work in social services here in New York City. I enjoy: reading the Word, fellowshipping, leading a lunch time bible study at work, movies from 30's, 40's and 50's, watching and reading pyschological thriller films and novels, hanging out with my best friends, collecting recipes and kitchen gadgets, spending time with my son whenever possible, watching football and writing. I should have been a buyer for Pier 1; I love that store and I have an interior decorator's eye.
This entry was posted in Abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In The Mist There Is Faith

  1. Julia says:

    Gwen, I like the way you insert the verses into your poem. Very effective and helps us “see” these verses as if for the first time.

  2. Dorothy says:

    Simply beautiful…

Please Do Comment On The Post, Your Thoughts Are Important

