Walk of Faith

woods He gazed out at the lake; frogs croaked in the distance. Three days, time away from the hassles of life he uttered as he blissfully sighed. Nate’s cellphone rang. He stared at the unfamiliar number. A strange, emotionless voice said “Is this Nathan Chambers?” Frowning, Nate grunted “Yes.” The caller continued. “Your Father has been in an accident. He is at Memorial General in the ICU unit.”

Nate quicken his steps, it would take 45 minutes to reach back to the house. As he walked memories of past times with his Father flickered through his brain; movie frames slowed down, pictures without sound. Suddenly, like a camera’s shutter firing off, images of his Father dying played in his head as if on an invisible video projection loop. Tears pooled at the corners of his eyes threatening to overflow. With a defiant shake of head, Nate continued on.

Half the distance there, his legs seemed as if they were heavy logs. His shoulders felt like a million hands were pressing downward. Needing to keep all negative thought at bay, Nate’s mind searched to recall Bible verses his Father had taught him through the years to recite during times of distress. Frantic, his thoughts fumbled around, no complete verse would materialize.

As he reached a winding turn, a stream of light broke the dense tree-lined path. Nate stared, transfixed upon it. Soft, whispered, a voice caressed his eyes “Do you not know me?” Nate’s eyes looked about. Again it came, louder, forceful. “Do you not know me?” Returning his gaze back to the stream of light, he began to tremble. Closing his eyes the tears ran unrestrained. A short time passed and his eyes opened and Nate continued towards the house.

Sometime later in the hospital room, Nate stared down at his sleeping Father. He took his Father’s strong, aged hand and gripped it tightly. Leaning in close he whispered “Dad, I am sorry I could not get here sooner, but God was here all along. You said if I trust him, he would never forsake.” His Father’ s eyes slowly opened fixing on his son’s face. In silence, love, understanding and forgiveness were exchanged.

That was a year ago and Nate still goes to the lake. Now it’s not to escape the trials of life. It’s time dedicated to prayer and reflection. Nate uses this time in solitude to fortified his spirit to withstand life’s demand. Nate still struggles at times in his Christian walk; but now he KNOWS God is God and reinforces his faith through the reading of scripture and not relying on the scripture to give him faith.

My Prayer: Heavenly Father, the believer’s journey is not an easy walk. Thank you for taking this walk with me, step by step. I ask that you guide my path, sustain my spirit, lay open my heart and clear the dense clutter from my mind so I can hear your voice and KNOW you. All praises due you, in the name of Jesus Christ I pray, Amen.

Genesis 28:15 – “I am with you and will watch over you wherever you go, and I will bring you back to this land. I will not leave you until I have done what I have promised you.”

About gwenbyfaith

I work in social services here in New York City. I enjoy: reading the Word, fellowshipping, leading a lunch time bible study at work, movies from 30's, 40's and 50's, watching and reading pyschological thriller films and novels, hanging out with my best friends, collecting recipes and kitchen gadgets, spending time with my son whenever possible, watching football and writing. I should have been a buyer for Pier 1; I love that store and I have an interior decorator's eye.
This entry was posted in Belief and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Walk of Faith

  1. Julia says:

    “Clear the dense clutter from my mind so I can hear your voice.” A prayer I need to pray daily. Thanks for this lovely reminder of God’s promise to us.

Please Do Comment On The Post, Your Thoughts Are Important

