Essence Of A Woman Of Faith

The door opens, a woman gracefully passes through, tiny smile curls her lips.
She enters the room, walking tall, moves purposefully, with a quiet confidence,
The men immediately notice, caution to approach, she must be spoken for
She takes a seat, from a distance their eyes watch her, they admire and adore woman Softly she greets those around her,
yet her words are loud and clear,
Lyrical is the sound of her voice that floats through the air and caresses the ear,
She is not haughty, not flashy, a striking feminine presence, modest in dress
The men want to know her, want to get closer, learn the secret she posses

She rises and crosses the room with authority, once again that secret smile
Oblivious to the stir she caused among the men watching all the while
One finds the courage, he approaches and asks with a nervous grin
Who are you, you have to tell me, I’ve been sitting here wondering.

“Forgive me, hope I did not offend? It’s just you are someone I want to know”
Lashes lower as almond-shaped eyes rest pointedly upon his face
For a time that feels like a century, she stands before him, still, silent, poised
Barely breathing, he studies her quiet beauty, quite alarming, full of grace

She tells him her story, he studies her as she finishes, turns and walks away
She goes and mingles among friends, he resumes his place among the men,
Thinking back on the conversation, lips shape a smile, just a trace,
So tell us, who is she, that woman, who caused such a stir in this place?

She has come through the fire, been through much more than she would tell
From all that she said, much of it I found myself hard pressed to relate
Her parting words left me with pondering, so many things to contemplate
She said “Trust In God.” Who I am and what you see is the product of my belief,
This is what she did state, “I am this and much more all possible by Faith.”

“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. 4 Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”
(1Peter 3-4)

After reading this story I’d like to poise some questions:
1) King David spoke of the lure of a woman who walks in faith; how would you describe such a woman?
2) Can faith shine on the outside of a woman? Is it sexy?
3) What is spiritual beauty to you? Can it enhance a woman’s outer appearance?

About gwenbyfaith

I work in social services here in New York City. I enjoy: reading the Word, fellowshipping, leading a lunch time bible study at work, movies from 30's, 40's and 50's, watching and reading pyschological thriller films and novels, hanging out with my best friends, collecting recipes and kitchen gadgets, spending time with my son whenever possible, watching football and writing. I should have been a buyer for Pier 1; I love that store and I have an interior decorator's eye.
This entry was posted in Belief, Faith, Love, Religion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Essence Of A Woman Of Faith

  1. Singh Style says:

    interesting & interactive…

Please Do Comment On The Post, Your Thoughts Are Important

